shopify analytics


Together we are stronger


Our committees are an opportunity for Members to roll up their sleeves to develop policies, recommendations, publications and artifacts for the IPSA and the global public safety community.

It's important to note that IPSA Committees are working groups, and all committee members should expect to volunteer between four - 10 hours per month to help the committee meet its goals. 

RTF Committee

The purpose of the Rescue Task Force Committee is to provide the IPSA guidance in all matters relating to the development, management and training practices of RTFs. The committee shall enhance the cooperation and the sharing of information between agencies who use RTF and those exploring the possibility of starting a RTF. The Committee will publish documents and articles to assist in the understanding of the benefits, costs, and complexities of on-going RTF training and management. Lieutenant George Steiner with Elgin Fire Department serves as Chair.

TEMS Committee

Tactical Emergency Medical Support is integral to SWAT and police Tactical Units in providing Special Operations Medicine in the pre-hospital setting. Tactical medics deliver point of wounding care in the direct threat, indirect threat and tactical evacuation phases of the austere environment. TEMS responds to high threat incidents such as: high risk warrants, terrorist attacks, active shooters and other intentional mass casualty incidents.  Allison G.S. Knox serves as Chair.

Mental Health, Fitness & Wellness Committee

This committee will address contemporary issues relating to public safety mental health, fitness and wellness issues and programs. Specifically, the IPSA Mental Health, Fitness & Wellness Committee will conduct research to develop papers, policy, position statements and relevant artifacts for the IPSA to share with the global public safety community. Nicholas Greco IV, MS, BCETS, CATSM serves as Committee Chair.

Special Advisory Committee 

Due to our significant growth in membership this year, the International Public Safety Association created a new Special Advisory Committee (IPSA SAC) for 2021. This committee will meet twice a year with the Executive Director to discuss the IPSA's progress, it's challenges and areas we can improve. It's a great opportunity for our members to have a voice in our strategic direction.

Each seat is a highly visible leadership position and has a term of one calendar year (expires 12/31/2021). We will include your name and bio on our website.

All applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Associate or Active-Level Membership
  • Participate in two mandatory, remote meetings. 

The application period is now closed. Selected candidates will be notified by March 15, 2021. 

Copyright 2020. International Public Safety Association, a 501(c)3 non-profit. Contact us.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software